Logo

Logo

Wednesday, 19 February 2014

We are the Children of the Popcorn

My friend Mike & I have decided to record a podcast. The website is now fully dedicated to film and tv related materials with a couple of games and books thrown in for good measure.

We are the Children of the Podcast.





Episode 1 - Something Inside Me Broke

Will be launched in the next 24 hours. 

Stay connected. 



Friday, 6 December 2013

Nelson Mandela: The Last Great Hero

Nelson Mandela passed away last night (5th December 2013), and I wanted to write a small tribute to a man that I have always considered the Last Great Hero of the 20th Century. I wasn't aware how much his passing would affect me, I'm certainly not one to jump on any sort of mourning bandwagon or throw around soft platitudes. But Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela was a cut above the rest, a true inspiration and a man that I would like to emulate, maybe not in the scale of what he achieved but his philosophy that he lived by and shared with the humanity. I've given him the title of "Last Great Hero" because in a world where political corruption, turmoil and social imbalance has caused so many to stand together and shout "NO MORE" in one voice. Mandela was the loudest of voices.


We are one decade into the 21st century and I am struggling to find the heroes. The Winston Churchills, the FDRs, the Mother Theresa, the Martin Luther King Jrs, the Mahatma Gandhis & the Nelson Mandelas have all left humanity with a huge void to fill. Who are we left with? Leaders who do not inspire, who disappoint, who look at their press agent before making any decision, whose bank balance can only be outdone by the next politician in line. Corruption and Corporate greed has taken a powerful hold on the politics. Where are the inspirations? We need heroes. Normal people who stand up for our principles, they encourage positive change and growth for all members of society. I want to be inspired. Humanity needs to be inspired. 


Where have all the heroes gone?


My hope for humanity and for humanities soul lies in the people who lay their lives on the line and take a stand for peace and understanding. Edward Snowden, Chelsea (Bradley) Manning, Aung San Suu Kyi, and Malala Yousafzai. These are heroes. These are people who we should aspire to be. Not the Kanyes, the Kardashians & the Biebers. Humanity needs to care more about the state of humanity and our place in it. How does humanity want to leave its mark once earth? As George Carlin once enlightened "The planet’ll shake us off like a bad case of fleas." So how will human beings be remembered. Will we just destroy everything and everyone until there is nothing. We must strive to help each other. We can be better. Humanity can be awesome.


Lets continue Madiba's legacy. Lets live to make the world a better place. Let us not hold onto the negativity and anger that holds us back. Let go of all the crap and fallout we walk around with. Let our hatred and animosity melt away. 


Show love, respect and kindness. Not because a book or someone tells you to. But because, knowing that a little love, a smile and a hug can change the world, one moment, one person, one day at a time.



RIP Madiba "The Last of the Great Heroes"
















Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela 
1918 - 2013


Tuesday, 26 November 2013

Here We Go Again

For around a month, a couple years back I began to engage in a blog, and not just any blog. A Capetonian Food Blog. In my mind, I honestly thought I was going to change the landscape of foodwriting, bring in a new thought process to the Hipster run eateries & the high-end Haute-Cuisine. Offering new perspective from an international trend setter and food watcher like myself. I truly believed that my opinion mattered and that my substance was far more entertaining and engaging than other style-based blogs. I was never looking for free stuff or a huge database of followers. All I wanted to do was to write and engage with people. Share my thoughts and have my voice heard, maybe share in an experience or two.

BOY!!! Was i mistaken.

I wasn't wrong about my ability to engage, the lack of readers or the context. What i was wrong about was me. I lacked the drive and perseverance to write a regular blog. I found out some interesting things about me this year, one of them being that I am a hugely anxious person. "ANXIOUS" you say? Yip, i have a constant feeling of being judged and disappointing people. I need clarity and understanding to engage and converse. All things that go against self-motivation and self-determination, factors that bring self doubt and exacerbates the my ill-conceived notion that i am a poor writer. Which i am... Grammatically speaking. Causing a streak of demotivation and becoming totally disinterested in my own passions and writing. When my  said "You're shit" I honestly believed it.

I've noticed that the internet, social media and pop culture was and still is rewarding the most narcissistic. This new breed of person, regardless of their social status and class bring with them a demand for entitlement. These people drive me bananas. Standing on their modern minimalist peddle-stool, pointing their unworked fingers at people they know nothing about. People who use hashtags like #WorseThanHitler or #FirstWorldProblems. The ones who get shitfaced at a trance festival and then drive home. The type who constantly talk about themselves and never once ask "How you doing?" You know the type I'm talking about. These type of people get my goat, but this is for a different post altogether.

But now that I am aware of my stupid fears and now have some clarity, I know what was holding me back. I understand my aversion to putting myself out there to be judged by people I have never meet before, the biggest fear was being judged by the people that did know me. Why? Who know? As much as I have asked my brain "why?", the only answer i get is an imaginary brain shrug.

So once again I embark on this journey. This bogus journey into my passions and my hates. Television, film, music, food art, pop culture, sports etc. Things I love, things that make my blood boil, things that are controversial. My hope is to write what I am interested in. "Write what you know" as the old adage goes. I religiously watch the latest episodes as close to them coming out as possible. Obviously i am selective in my watching habits, but I only watch what i find engaging and entertaining. Film and Music is extremely important to me. I watch a shitton of Football (soccer for you Yanks) & SPort,

I don't believe in Censorship. But i do believe in decency. My hope is this can be a place of honesty, integrity and humility. I will not accept or tolerate racism, bigotry, sexism, intolerance (Ironic), trolling or misogyny. Yes, lets argue and debate, But for fuck sake's, we will be civilised!

I'm not a designer or arty. I'm wordy. Thats the type of blog you'll get.

This is my prelude. This is my revival.

Onwards & Upwards We Climb.

Stay Tuned Kids.

Tuesday, 5 June 2012

Masterbored SA


I am pretty much bored with Masterchef SA (@masterchefsa). I've watched 8 episodes, i have 3 on PVR and can't see myself getting back into it after such a disastrously boring start to the series. Focusing solely on the so called "drama", judges reactions (which is as sickening and stomach turning as some of the dishes our chefs have presented).

Now i have no doubt that the contestants are excellent cooks, and potentially top class chefs. But, the way the producers and directors are going about it, it truly is an embarrassment. The show feels rushed. Like they want to cram in as much *BS as possible. Losing focus on whats really important: The contestants and their dishes. Good or bad.


I remember watching the original british series, which was an episodic competition series. Each episode saw 8 contestant go through 3 elimination rounds. Firstly mystery ingredients round, which saw 5 budding chefs eliminated. The remaining three contestants then go through 2 rounds. Firstly a days internship as a line-cook in one of London's top restaurants. Then the final round 2 courses of their choosing. The judges then retire to make their decision and after 2 minutes of discussion, they select the winner in a typical game show manner (with dramatic pause). The show does this until the semis and then the finals. Simple and clean.

I genuinely hopes that the local show improves and loses its emphasis on product placement, while  overly celebrating and glorifying the already small group of people established in the food industry. 

I have the utmost respect for the all the contestants, judges, guest chefs, writers and bloggers. I love our local food, chefs, restaurants, dives, eateries, the men & women who farm and produce our magnificent local products. 

This little rant is no way meant to be offensive or slanderous in any way. It is all of my own opinion.

Black Sheep out!